Rabu, 22 Februari 2012

What 2 Things Do You Need to Know About HIPAA Certification?

All US healthcare professionals are required to obtain their Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) certification in order to ensure a transparent and efficient medical system. Read below to find out more about the various types of HIPAA certification exams and about the curriculum you need to prepare for each one of them.

• HIPAA Certification Curriculum:

In order to be able to pass the HIPAA exams and receive a certificate validating their knowledge, trainees have to study a certain curriculum. The curriculum includes an introduction to HIPAA, detailing its enactment, regulations, and goals, an introduction to the HIPAA Privacy Rule, other advanced privacy topics, HIPAA Security, standards for electronic transactions, administrative safeguards, and physical and technical safeguards.

People wanting to obtain a HIPAA Specialist certificate will have to prepare a more extensive curriculum. The topics they will have to learn include regulatory compliance and security, financial security and services, Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) requirements, digital healthcare and security, International Organization for Standardization (ISO) standards, US State Government Requirements, business continuity planning, and cyber security strategy.

These training modules are offered by various healthcare training companies and they are often bundled up in courses called HIPAA Basic and HIPAA Advanced, according to the type of certificate each healthcare worker needs to obtain. If you cannot find the right bundle of courses you need for your HIPAA certification, contact the training company to see if they can provide you with the exact curriculum you need for your exam.

• Types of HIPAA Certifications:

There are three types of HIPAA Certification exams healthcare professionals can sign up for, according to what job responsibilities they have. The easiest exam, the Certified HIPAA Administrator or CHA for short, is meant for people working in the healthcare industry who do not have access to confidential health data. In order to pass this exam, trainees will only have to prepare some basic information about HIPAA and the Privacy Rule, or, in other words, the HIPAA Basic training course.

The Certified HIPAA Professional (CHP) is an exam created for healthcare professionals who have direct contact with patient records. In order to be able to pass it, applicants will have to undergo the HIPAA Advanced training course, which also focuses on security requirements apart from the Privacy Rule. Candidates for the CHP exam will also have to prove their knowledge in topics such as electronic transactions and administrative, physical, and technical safeguards.

The third and most complex exam, the Certified Security Compliance Specialist or CSCS, is designed for security officers, compliance professionals, compliance managers, privacy officers, security officers, and senior IT staff. This certificate validates a healthcare professional's knowledge and skills in areas like information security, legislations, frameworks, and international standards.

These are some of the most important things any healthcare professional should know about how HIPAA certification works. If you are still not sure which certificate is suitable for you, contact a senior manager in your institution or any HIPAA training company for more information.

Tidak ada komentar:

Posting Komentar